Pages

Monday, March 11, 2013

If You Love History


For any of our blog readers who may love historical fiction of any genre (romance, mystery, time-travel, etc.) the way I do, you may want to consider attending an upcoming conference. The 5th North American conference of the Historical Novel Society will be held in June of this year. We have an awesome lineup of agents and editors, all looking for historical fiction. Attendees and Guests of Honor will include Anne Perry (if you like mysteries you’ve probably read some of hers), Steve Berry, Diana Gabaldon, and others. Attendees' books can be bought and sold at the conference and during the special book signing. We have a special pre-conference seminar by Charlotte Cook, where an editor works one-on-one to whip that first five pages into shape.
This year the conference will be held in St. Petersburg, Florida, at the historic Vinoy hotel, known for hosting visiting presidents back before St. Petersburg became the sprawling city it is. For more information and to register, click here.
Hope to see some of you there in June.

3 comments:

Summer Ross said...

Sounds awesome- wish I lived closer so i could attend. Thanks for posting.

Jacqueline Seewald said...

Hi, Joyce,

I'm with Summer! This sounds like an absolutely wonderful conference.
I love historical novels. Although I write mystery and romance primarily, I've also written four historical novels (unpublished). I wish I could go the conference. But family obligations keep me from traveling unfortunately. I still haven't visited Florida and would love to see your beautiful state. Maybe one of these days (sigh!).
Anyway, I digress. Please if you are going to the conference share some of the information with us.
Love to hear what these amazing writers and agents have to say.
Take notes please!

deepak dave said...

Hi Jacqueline, I have a couple of questions for you please. What will happen to the blog once the Google Reader is withdrawn? Also,I have always thought about writing, but how does one start? I write poems - but stories the length of novels and novellas is quite another challenge ? Hope you can reply, Thanks DD